2nd Nephi 29:2-3, 8
"The words of your seed should proceed forth out of my mouth unto your seed; and my words shall hiss forth unto the ends of the earth, for a standard unto my people, which are of the house of Israel;
And because my words shall hiss forth—many of the Gentiles shall say: A Bible! A Bible! We have got a Bible, and there cannot be any more Bible.

Wherefore murmur ye, because that ye shall receive more of my word? Know ye not that the testimony of two nations is a witness unto you that I am God, that I remember one nation like unto another? Wherefore, I speak the same words unto one nation like unto another. And when the two nations shall run together the testimony of the two nations shall run together also. "

The Book of Mormon is one of the most controversial pieces of text in religious history. Loved and cherished by Latter-day Saints and condemned by much of the religious and secular world, the concept of the Book of Mormon leaves some befuddled. They consider the addition of another sacred text a defilement of the Holy Bible, and they back up this claim by citing Revelation 22:18:
 "For I testify unto every man that heareth the wordsof the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book." 
This quote from St. John is a charge to the world not to corrupt the word of God, and is enough to dissuade any God-fearing man from doing so. But this scripture does not, as it might seem, condemn the Book of Mormon, when one considers this gem from John 10: 15-16:
"As the Father knoweth Me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd." 
Or this, from 2nd Corinthians 13:1:"This is the third time I am coming to you. In the mouth of two or three witnesses shall every word be established."
Two or three witnesses. The Book of Mormon is that second witness of Christ. Indeed, The savior Jesus Christ did visit his other sheep in the Americas. The Book of Mormon and the Bible are not in contradiction. They, in fact, support one another and echo many of the same sentiments. I have a testimony of the Book of Mormon. I believe it to be the word of God, and testify of its truthfulness. I believe that God intended for us to have this second witness, that we might have a greater understanding of the workings of Heaven and the love of our dear Savior and elder brother Jesus Christ. I know this book has the power to soften hearts and change lives. It has for me, and many others. I conclude in the name of Jesus Christ-- Amen.
7/10/2012 02:22:49 am

Hey! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the good information you�ve got here on this post. I will likely be coming back to your weblog for much more soon.

Reply



Leave a Reply.